Equality Delivery System

The main purpose of the Equality Delivery System 2 (EDS2) was, and remains, to help local NHS organisations, in discussion with local partners including local populations, review and improve their performance for people with characteristics protected by the Equality Act 2010. By using the EDS2, NHS organisations can also be helped to deliver on the Public Sector Equality Duty.

EDS2 is more streamlined and simpler to use compared with the original EDS. It is aligned to NHS England’s commitment to an inclusive NHS that is fair and accessible to all.

At the heart of the EDS2 is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into four goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities and staff. It is against these outcomes that performance is analysed, graded and action determined. The grading of the CCG will be carried out by local people across Morecambe Bay on a yearly basis.

The four EDS2 goals are:

1. Better health outcomes for all
2. Improved patient access and experience
3. Empowered, engaged and included staff
4. Inclusive leadership at all levels

The grades for EDS2 are as follows:

1.    Undeveloped – Red
2.    Developing – Amber
3.    Achieving – Green
4.    Excelling – Purple

NHS England's Guide to the Equality Delivery System 

NHS England's website contains lots of information about the Equality Delivery System, including its purpose and an animated video to explain them. 

Useful links